Comhairle na nÓg 31 youth councils across the country
giving young people a voice on local services & policies

How We Are Funded and Supported

Comhairle na nÓg is funded by a number of agencies.


The Department of Children and Youth Affairs (DCYA) Comhairle na nÓg Development Fund provides money to local authorities to run effective Comhairle na nÓg. Local authorities also provide funding and resources for Comhairle na nÓg, as well as other organisations at local level.

Steering Committees

Comhairle na nÓg Steering Committees have become a cornerstone of the support required for an effective Comhairle na nÓg. Steering Committee members typically include a local authority representative, the Comhairle na nÓg Coordinator, local youth service representatives, the VEC Youth Officer and other local stakeholders, who can support the help the Comhairle na nÓg achieve their desired outcomes, impact and change. Additional members of the Steering Committee are drawn from organisations and bodies that are relevant to the topics being pursued by young people in a particular year.

Participation Team

The Department also funds the services of three regional Participation Officers – Renagh Hayden (Senior Participation Officer), Kate Jones and Mark O’Dwyer (covering maternity leave for Suzanne Byrne ) who provide advice, resources and training to all 31 Comhairle na nÓg Coordinators. The Department also funds a Participation Coordinator, Karyn Farrell, who is the dedicated support worker for the National Executive and the LGBTI+ Youth Forum. She also is responsible for organising all monthly meetings of the National Executive, the Young People’s Networking Events, additional consultations with young people,  and is part of the coordination team for the national events each year, i.e. Dail na nÓg and the Showcase Event, among others.

The Comhairle na nÓg Coordinator is the key organiser of Comhairle na nÓg. He or she is supported by the Department of Children and Youth Affairs Participation Officers, local colleagues and members of the Steering Committee. You can find their contact details on the local Comhairle pages here:

  • Renagh Hayden, Senior Participation Officer
  • Kate Jones, Participation Officer
  • Mark Dwyer (covering maternity leave for Suzanne Byrne as of March 2020), Participation Officer
  • Karyn Farrell, Participation Coordinator